Writing in the gaps

Hi!  I’m Jodie.

I used to blog years ago but life got busy and I stopped.  Life is still busy but I’ve finally come to the realisation that it isn’t about to slow down anytime soon (certainly not with two small sons keeping me on my toes!)  I’ve also realised that in my journey of motherhood I’ve let some things slide.  These ‘things’ being my own passions and interests.  It wasn’t a deliberate decision but it’s certainly hard to find time to yourself when you’re raising tiny humans.

My biggest passion has always been for writing.  I was certain from quite a young age that I would write novels one day, once I had experienced some more of life.  I always remember thinking that it would be a good thing to do in my 30’s (and how far off that seemed at the time!)  Now here I am in my 30’s with no novel to show and I have spent the last few years neglecting my passion entirely.  It’s time to make a change!

I’ve read a few references lately to writing in the gaps.  I’ve heard more than one writer talking about how they find time to write novels whilst they are parenting / working full time jobs / promoting books / freelance writing or whatever it is that they do.  This really resonated with me because that’s exactly how I have just completed a Masters in Nutrition – working in the gaps in my day for the past three years.  Assignments have been done at nap times and on weekends and with the computer on my lap whilst the kids ran around me.  I am good at working in the gaps.  So why not write creatively in them too?  Now that I am done studying, why not fill some of those gaps with writing?  And what if that writing became a novel?  I’m sure it could!

So here I am, trying to hold myself accountable and practice the craft of writing.  I’d love for you to join me on this crazy ride as I discover how to write in the gaps and reconnect with my passion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

