NaNoWriMo

Once I’ve made up my mind to do something I am pretty determined to do it. So why come at this writing thing in a gradual way when I can spend the entire month of November fully immersing myself in it?

I heard about NaNoWriMo through the So you want to be a writer? podcast. I had never heard of it before and it sounded like a crazy/interesting idea – to write 50 000 words in a month. I am always up for a challenge so I looked it up and found that Brisbane has a very supportive Nano community that rally together during November for support and guidance. My mind was made up.

With less than a week to go until November rolls around I have been busy outlining my novel and working on my characters before the hard work begins. I have updated my Bullet Journal with a word count table (and some other ideas from Boho Berry) and started playing around with Scrivener, which is where I will be doing my writing.

I am filled with plenty of excitement and only a tiny bit of reservation about the month ahead. One way or another I am going to get some words down, even if those words don’t quite add up to 50 000.

(Image: courtesy of National Novel Writing Month)

Leave a comment